If you just heard him sing, you say his voice is a blend of Al Jarreau and Donnie Hathaway. But you’d have to see him play the guitar to realize there’s probably no one who compares.

This is my 3rd time seeing Raul Midon and he never disappoints. Tonight a The Queen in Wilmington, DE, he sang quite a few songs I wasn’t familiar with, but that only adds to the mystique of this incredible talent.

As an amateur guitar player who struggles to finger a Cmaj7 chord on a good day, when I see what Raul Midon does with a guitar is far beyond my wildest dreams. He switched between  two acoustic guitars in his usual style of jazz, classical, flamingo, and whatever else you want to call it. The body of the guitar serves as a percussion instrument and his mouth trumpet will fool you if you’re not looking.

He is one of the most unique performers I’ve ever seen and I’ll see him again when he comes through the area. I suggest you do the same if you love good music.