It’s easy to criticize highly paid celebrities who don’t contribute to the communities they come from, especially if those communities are struggling. It’s hard to understand why some celebrities who do contribute prefer to contribute anonymously.

I rarely cover celebrity pop culture stuff, but, what Chance the Rapper is doing is worthy of my keystrokes.

According to Huffington Post

The Chicago rapper is organizing the inaugural Twilight Awards, set to be held in June 2018. The ceremony, hosted by James Corden, will celebrate “teachers, parents, principals and students that convey leadership,

…he also pledged a $2.2 million donation to 20 Chicago public schools

I was introduced to Chance the Rapper early last year in an interview on NPR’s show ‘Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me.’ I was quite impressed with Mr. Rapper but I still don’t think I know any of his songs.

When you brag about the good things you do in the community with your money, you get guys like me curious in what you do to make your money. Therefore, I’m going on Apple Music and listen to a few of Chance the Rapper’s top hits. Ain’t that the way it’s supposed to work?