I don’t follow crime stories because I usually get confused along the way. It’s either something with the crime, the criminal, the crime fighters, or the criminal justice system that ruins it for me. Occasionally, I poke my head out of the sand when a crime story looks interesting, knowing full well that once I start following the story I’m going to find something that doesn’t agree with me.

Such is the case with the Bucks County Pennsylvania case of the four missing white guys who were shot, burned, and buried by their two buddies – or something like that.

Somehow, I picked up on the story when the authorities were rather convinced they’d find something in their search of the 90-acre Solebury Township estate as the D.A. warned folks it could take days because it was like finding a needle in a haystack. The very next day there was a confession, arrest, and a made-for-TV story line. I was so behind on the details that I figured reading Saturday’s Philadelphia Inquirer would tie up all the loose ends for me.

Nope. As is the case when I try to follow a crime story, this one is starting out with questionable facts and unbalanced reporting, which could be by design.

Before reading the article, I thought that maybe the 4 victims were all together and turned up missing. But, the confessor says they arrived on separate occasions and he killed them one at a time. I was okay with that storyline until the newspaper started sharing more details.

My approach to reading newspaper articles is to look at the photos and read their captions before reading the article. The first thing that caught my eye were the photos of the victims. Those were not photos scanned from their fireplace mantle or family photo albums. Each of those photos looked like mug shots to me. Maybe it’s their passport photo or driver licenses photo, but I don’t think so.

I was curious what bad behavior these 4 victims were involved in only to read what such good kids they were in school, on the baseball field, on their jobs. But, they were allegedly going to the estate to make a large weed buy. Even the killer called one of his victims a ‘pill-popping junky’ in Sunday’s Inquirer. No shade fell upon any of the victims in either Saturday or Sunday’s Inquirer’s articles. I guess they weren’t mug shot photos after all since none of their rap sheets were mentioned.

As the opening sentence of Sunday’s Inquirer article reads…”

It was supposed to be a routine drug transaction.

I have a feeling that if I, or someone who looks like me, were making that buy, it wouldn’t be considered so routine.

The main character, Mr. DiNardo, had been banned from Arcadia University and was a familiar name to Bensalem police. We don’t read what happened at Arcadia or why the police are familiar with him.

His only arrest was for having a firearm which was dismissed. Yet, folks can legally have a firearm. There’s no mention what he did to get arrested.

He had a reputation for selling guns and weed. However, in order to get him in jail while the authorities snooped around his 90-acres, they rearrested him on that firearms charge and set bail for $1 million. Is it really that easy to dismiss an arrest and come back and be arrested for it again? See how I get all confused on this stuff?

We never hear from Mr. DiNardo’s parents other than the fact that daddy shows up with $100,000 to get baby boy out of jail. The other disturbing daddy issue is from the father of one of the victims who hoped his son and friend were late for work because they were out drinking the night before and sleeping it off. My question would be, where would he be sleeping? Does he live at home? Is this normal behavior for your good kid?

And then there’s this little issue with 8 pounds of weed that one of the victims allegedly came to the estate to purchase. Not only was he short $7,200 of the $8,000 asking price, we never hear anything about the weed again until another victim was to buy $700 of weed. I’m curious if they found any weed, and if so, where are the drug charges?

For now, we know Mr. DiNardo made a deal with the prosecutors that they don’t seek the death penalty if he tells them where the 4th body was buried. That’s why stories like this confuse me because I’d expect those type of deals to be made in court, not in the corn field.

We’re left with the bizarre tale of 4 good kids out to buy a lot of weed with not enough money getting killed by their pal who recently bumped his head in an ATV accident resulting in behavior changes along with being diagnosed with schizophrenia and is a former patient at a mental health facility but likes to carry guns.

See why I don’t follow crime stories! This one just started and it’s a bunch of bullshit already.

My sincere condolences to the families of the victims. It’s never fair to lose a loved one without the opportunity to say goodbye.