Two interesting incidents of black folks being handcuffed crossed my desk today which made me wonder if blacks are handcuffed by police more than they should be.

The first incident occurred in Washington D.C. where three black teens were cuffed after being caught selling water on a hot day in a National Mall. I know from experience that vendors are not allowed to sell anything in a National Mall from an incident I had near the Liberty Bell many years ago. The Park Rangers politely told us the rules and we politely packed up our stuff. Lesson learned.

DC9HTNJW0AIHd4X

I don’t know the details of what happened in D.C. other than these three guys are seen in a photo handcuffed for selling without a permit. They were let go and not arrested.

The second incident is a photo sent by a reader who wanted my opinion of a local policeman and a little black girl looking all chummy as they smile for the camera with her in handcuffs. At first glance I’d say that the two of them were having fun. I’m not so certain that in these times most folks would agree that the optics would be considered anyone’s concept of fun.

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 3.58.46 PM.png

What do y’all think about these two occurrences of Handcuffed while Black?

Become of Member of the Stefan Roots Blog for $1