A young lady who learned of my interest in water issues suggested that I watch episode 2 of ‘Cooked’ on Netflix for a perspective on water I probably wasn’t aware of. I got excited until she told me it was a cooking show.

I can’t get into these new cooking shows with all the frantic running around trying to beat the clock, making cakes that look like Magic Kingdom, fixing meals with mystery ingredients I can’t pronounce, enduring show hosts who holler at the contestants, and all the ‘Yes Chef’ salutations.

The only ones I like are those that teach me how to cook, and since the Galloping Gourmet went off the air, I’ve lost interest in cooking shows.

‘Cooked’ is much more than a cooking show. This 4-part series is a cinematographic exploration of the ways in which food, culture and personal experience intertwine. Each episode has a different focus – Fire, Water, Air, and Earth. It’s almost like watching a National Geographic or the History Channel treatment of food & cooking with all the locations, people, and back stories.

The first episode on ‘Fire’ takes you to Australia where they feature an Aboriginal tribal family hunt and gather out in no man’s land just as they’ve done for generations. The guys have rifles but when you see what the women do, it’ll blow your mind.

They describe that the closest thing to tribal cooking today are the pit masters of the south and they feature a black guy showing off his family tradition of bar-b-que by roasting a huge pig on a wood fired grill.

cooked-2

The funny part is seeing the show host trying to replicate the grill master’s technique on his backyard fire pit. As we watched, we just kept saying that they look so stupid.

If you love food, how food’s prepared, and the science and history behind it, while viewing some of the most amazing cinematic images modern movie making has to offer, check out ‘Cooked’ on Netflix.