Saturday after work, I stopped by to catch a little of the CHESTER MADE two-part community series on Tactical Urbanism led by Mike Lydon, principal of the Street Plans Collaborative and co-author of “Tactical Urbanism: Short-Term Action, Long-Term Change.”

From there, I walked next door to chat with the folks hanging out at Abstract Space and found myself in the midst of an open mic rock concert with many bands taking turns on the stage performing. It was a great ‘new’ look in Chester to see a bunch of young rockers and folk singers entertaining a pleasantly rowdy audience of complete strangers.

Just as I was about to leave, Chuck Lacy asked me to join him as he crossed the street to attend the ‘Marvin Gaye Remembered Live’ show at Open Mikes presented by crooner John Carr. Hating to see a man enjoying R&B by himself, I took Chuck up on his offer.

Chester Rocks09
Chuck Lacy demonstrating his Blue-Eyed Soul while belting out a Marvin Gaye song better than Robin Thicke could ever do

I hadn’t seen John Carr perform in about 8 years and he has grown into a great performer. Along with the awesome Addition Band and backup singer Tammi Terrell, they sang many of my favorite Marvin Gaye songs with a lot of style.

Be careful when you land on Ave of the States at night. You may find yourself trapped in an entertainment vortex that refuses to release you.