I read a study recently that said…

…swearing appears to be a feature of language that an articulate speaker can use in order to communicate with maximum effectiveness.

Researchers at Marist College in New York say a big vocabulary of curse words is a sign of higher rhetorical skill, and those that can name the most swear words in one minute tend to have a greater overall vocabulary.

That damn Phil Heron, editor of the Delaware County Daily Times, was speaking my language with his editorial in today’s paper.

I always thought it was because I’ve been working around a bunch of potty mouthed men for so long that their lexicon of loquacious expletives and blithering imprecations influence my subliminal phraseology of verbal expression. But, I’ve sense learned that I curse because I’m smarter than the average bear.

And on that writing thing, I was one of those folks Phil talks about when he says…

We set up community media labs. We helped set up readers with their own blogs. I quickly learned that everyone wants to write a blog. Right up until the moment when they have to start blogging. Writing, a bit like making sausage, is something better not witnessed. At least it is when I’m perched in front of my laptop.

I prefer to write in the morning because stuff like NBA playoffs consume my evenings. I find out later in the day that some of the stuff (see, I didn’t use that other word) I wrote around this time of morning is full of typos. I usually go into a little cursing rant before adding commas, removing ‘the the’, breaking up a run-on, or completing a fragment. Sometimes I just let the participle dangle.

Phil Heron is my go to guy when it comes to trying to find the motivation for keeping this blog going. He gave me the platform to get this blog started when I was so naive that I thought a Blogger was a Black Logger.

If you have a problem with what I write and how it comes out, see Phil.