In 2008, Widener University dedicated every inch of the walls in their Alumni Auditorium lobby with 300 pictures representing the histories of the United States, Chester and Widener University spanning 186 years.

“Connections: A Timeline of Our History” is a permanent exhibition in the Alumni Auditorium lobby at the main campus of Widener University. It is free and open to the public from 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday through Friday and on weekends when the auditorium is being used for events.

One of the exhibits recognize two of the publications that served Chester – Perspective Magazine and the Chester Spotlight paper.

The Perspective Magazine, published by Butch Slaughter and Bill Nix, two guys I had never met at the time, was a glossy magazine that never ceased to address the most important issues going on in Chester with some of the most provocative insights imaginable and was highly sought after whenever it hit the streets.

As a courtesy, before I started the Chester Spotlight, I reached out to Butch Slaughter by phone to let him know I was considering starting a paper. The Perspective hadn’t had a new issue in months and I wasn’t going to launch a new paper if they were planning to continue publishing. After a few more months of not putting out a new issue of the Perspective, I put the Spotlight on the street.

After a few issues, I receive a letter from Butch that wasn’t the most flattering endorsement of my publication. If I was a petty dude, I’d kick him in the shins, but over time we’ve got to know each other and have supported each other in our continued efforts to bring quality writing to the city and beyond.

perspective spotlight2

(L-R) Bill Nix, myself and Butch were at Widener’s Alumni Hall for the Chester-Widener Film Fest on Thursday night and it was a great opportunity for us to share pride in being represented in the “Connections: A Timeline of Our History” exhibit. To memorialize the moment, we posed for a photo in front of our mastheads.

Ulysses “Butch” Slaughter now serves as the Program Manager for The Chester Made Project. There’s a part of me that wants to kick him in the other shin because it’s a position I interviewed for but wasn’t selected. But, in all honesty, he is an excellent choice to do that job. I’m glad he applied, too.

Read the Delaware County Times story from 2008 on the opening of “Connections: A Timeline of Our History,”

012_13A
I’ve literally taken thousands of photos around Chester and I’m proud to have this one selected to hang on the wall of the “Connections: A Timeline of Our History” exhibit. This photo was also used in ‘Sons of Ben – The Movie.”

perspective spotlight