This Saturday, Laced Sneaker Company will host its third annual sneaker convention in partnership with the Delaware 87ers basketball team. The event will be at the Bob Carpenter Center and will feature vendors buying, selling and trading all different types of sneakers. Tickets start at $20.

Laced Sneaker Company was founded in spring 2015 to meet the needs of sneakerheads in the Delaware area. Laced is a web-based company founded by childhood friends Mercedes Watson and Maurice Furrowh that chronicles sneaker culture.

LacedSneakers.com provides information on sneaker releases, YouTube commentary and custom merchandise.

Sneaker conventions are evidence that I’m older than I’d like to admit. I like a nice sneaker, but my objective is more function than fashion.

Comfort is my number one objective. I look for ankle support in my basketball sneak and arch support in my running sneak. That about wraps it up for me.

It’s hard to wrap my mind around what the sneaker has become in terms of fashion and status. But, I love how enterprising minds are creating entrepreneurial opportunities to profit from the industry.

If we were smart like that when we were younger, maybe we would have had Stacy Adams or Florsheim conventions.