A couple days ago, I shared a post inviting you to join the pop-up workspace at 511 Avenue of the States on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday of this week. I didn’t have a clue what it was all about so my curiosity drove me to find out. 

I’m glad I did.

makerspace03

At first glance, it looks like a store front under renovation. There is wood and tools and sketches all over the room. As I was trying to figure out what the space would look like when finished, I was told that it was finished. 

MakerSpace15.jpg

511 Ave of the States is a community wood shop. It’s the place to come to join forces with people to build stuff. They’ve got almost every tool imaginable and some knowledgable people banging, sawing, sanding, drilling, assembling, constructing, and designing things made with wood.

MakerSpace06.jpg

Honestly, I’m still trying to figure out the multitudes of possibilities for the community, but I was told some of the early projects are to teach community members how to build stuff that will be used in the community.

MakerSpace10.jpg

The longer I hung around, the more sense it made. It’s sort of like a community vo-tech space to learn woodworking. 

MakerSpace16.jpg

I own a lot of tools and I’m always tinkering. But, I inherited a circular saw and a work bench and enjoy my extremities too much to fire that thing up without some instruction. I think I’m going to load it in the car and have one of those guys show me how to use it. 

makerspace13

I brought my little pocket camera along and after looking at the photos, there’s absolutely nothing exciting about looking at plywood.

I decided to have fun with Photoshop and make a few of the photos look more appealing. 

makerspace05

MakerSpace02.jpg