If that play was seen by a bunch of 15 to 25 year old ‘inner city’ black folks, they’d be best to make sure security was nearby because somebody would be rushing the stage to choke an actor.

I hate to bring you a review of ‘White Guy on the Bus’ after I just saw the very last showing at the Delaware Theater Company. I just learned about the play yesterday and squeezed my butt into one of the last seats available today, and I’m glad I did.

A magnificently written, directed, and produced play presented by 3 white and 1 black actor that depicts real attitudes between rich and poor, black and white. It got so real at one point that I found myself uncontrollably yelling out an expletive which had me embarrassed for about 3 seconds until I concluded it was justified.

A lot of lessons to be learned in this play. Black high school students would learn how their white teachers really feel about them, both good and bad. Young black adults could learn how white folks value black lives, particularly in terms of criminal males. single moms, ghetto living and public assistance. Older whites would empathize with the conflict of living in privilege while trying to relate to the black struggle.

After the play, there was a 20 to 30 minute discussion on the play. Five percent of the audience was black and 100 percent of them left when the play was over.

I wish the audience was younger and more mixed and had time for a discussion. I would have loved to be a part of that.

If ‘White Guy on the Bus’ resurfaces, go see it.