I’ve never known a high school JV assistant basketball coach being featured in the sports section, but long time Chester coach, Kedrick ‘Keddy’ Harris, found a way to make it on Philly.com.

Keddy, best known for his clipboard and death stares to players and refs when things aren’t going just right, follows a long tradition of professional agitation, as his oldest brother, Commodore, used to stomp up and down the sidelines of Chester High football games like a bull in a china closet.

I’ve known Keddy most of my life, and as kids, he was the guy who would round us up to play sports all day, everyday, even when we didn’t want to. My success as a youth athlete is directly attributed to the talent Keddy saw in me that I had no clue I had.

It’s only fitting that someone finally recognizes that Keddy Harris’ unique bad boy bench demeanor as an assistant coach has helped to make Chester basketball as successful as it’s been for the past 30 years.

I think I remember him telling me that this will be his last year coaching, but I’ll believe that when I see it. I’m sure not going to argue with him over it. He always wins.