I’m not a boxing fan, but after reading that Sister Souljah listed ‘Undisputed Truth’ as the favorite book she’s recently read, I wanted to read it too. I used one of my Audible.com credits, downloaded the book, and was blown away as I listened to the 20 hours of the Mike Tyson story.

It didn’t take long to learn that this isn’t a book on boxing, but a book that goes deep in the head of a complex man who has lived a life to extremes none of us will ever experience. Yet, through his life story, I found places where I’ve been, places I’d like to go, and places I’m glad I never had to experience.

I’m amazed how detailed Tyson’s recollections are, which are expertly presented by his ghost writer. When he says he has a photographic memory, I absolutely believe him.

This book is for adults. The language and subject matter is for grown folks only. It’s a black man from the ‘hood talking just like a black man man from the ‘hood. I imagine the tone would be offensive to many, but for a guy like me, it was refreshing to feel like I was listening to a guy in the barbershop, at the bar, or on the street.

After I finished the book, I went to Amazon to read some of the reviews to see if other readers found the book as great as I did. Of the 500 reviews, it received a 4.6 out of 5 stars. Then, I was curious what the professional reviewers had to say and some of the regular readers like me. Here are a few of their comments:

  • You learn about the man behind the biased media articles.
  • for anyone whom enjoys discovering new things about a public person you think you already know.
  • the most soul baring book of its genre ever written
  • unrelentingly vulgar and foul-mouthed, raw and profane
  • hilarious combo of street and shrink, pimp profanity and the ‘prisony pseudo-intellectual modern mack rap’
  • the grittiest and most harrowing memoirs I’ve ever read
  • I was disgusted by the pure debauchery described in this book
  • slashing comments on people who were once close to him
  • while he has few kind words for the likes of King, Robin Givens, and Desiree Washington, no one fares worse in these pages than Tyson himself.
  • biting humor and fondness for literary and historical references that run the gamut from Alexandre Dumas to Tolstoy to Lenin to Tennessee Williams
  • pulls no punches and knocks you on your back. you will laugh, feel the emotion, hurt, pain and bitterness.
  • leaves you with the mental image of a man walking a tightrope holding an egg in a spoon.
  • does not ask for sympathy and tells it like it is.
  • Hilarious, sad, depressing and encouraging all wrapped up into one package. Touches so many levels of the human emotion.
  • what’s most surprising about the book is the introspection and self-awareness displayed